[3-12-24] A changed direction


Hello everyone, I feel like I got quite a bit to talk about tonight, Regarding this past week with all that's been going on and plans and etc.


I didn't get the job for what it seems like


So I got the Interview this past week on a sunday, And well I was genuinely interested they liked my portfolio and even shown me around. They told me they were gonna call me Friday or Monday and that I should be getting a call no matter what... I didn't get a call at all, I assume that I was not chosen for the job sadly as there was plenty of other people who were being interviewed that week. It kinda sucks, But on the bright side I also made a good paycheck this past week doing Doordash, Sure it's not on par with my last job's pay but it's nice to have plenty of money and constantly working. Which I must admit, it's kinda getting in the way of me doing this at this point, I may have to change what times I should go, But sleeping in is also just nice to do.


Settling Axel


So this year I did put out a little surprise of a specific character named "Axel". He is a Blue haired wolf humanoid, You can't miss him in the Art images as he really stands out amongst the group of images. However, What I should mention is that he WAS part of the project that I was working with, Kinda. You see, There would have been a side thing with this character that had the bunch of us make our own characters and had their own story to go alongside the main project. Well the truth is, When the main person scrapped the original idea for how he was gonna tell the story and changed the project overall, It practically made our characters be put in this Limbo since it was gonna work with a similar kind of way... Of course the main project isn't centered around this and was merely used for like, World building purposes. I won't go into too much detail about the project nor am I really gonna say who I was affiliated with when helping around with said project. However, I have considered to maybe make a webcomic out of this character, Changing plenty of things but also keep the same personality and have a similar kind of look (The design that is public is slightly different from what was behind closed doors). I have practically got the greenlight from one of the people who kinda gave this idea from the getgo and was kinda over this smaller part of the project. I still have to talk to the main guy, I wouldn't be surprised if he was okay with it and go with the same thing the last guy told me to do, Take out any references or anything to that project. Then, I can finally use him to my hearts content. The plan I wanna do is actually make a Webcomic with said character, He's not hard to draw to me and I REALLY love this character a lot. All to give him another shot.


Related to the topic of this week's blogpost.


I think a lot of us here are tired of Corporation centralization and all that crap. This website was a start to go a different path and a way to express myself. Needless to say, It has succeeded and that I have been running this neocities/website for going nearly 2 years soon with active development like a year and a half ago. From there I discovered more and more things, Related to open source, Privacy, etc. I have been removing one by one of things that I was commonly using, stuff like Youtube, Centralized Search engines, Steam, etc. Yeah, My system is quite bare and plentiful with Open Source Software, I even switched to a Firefox Fork that was notoriously better and actually privacy respecting than the default Firefox that comes with Linux. As of today, Discord has been the last bastion to it all as I move forward with XMPP and Matrix accounts. Hell even the pages I commonly use aren't even Big tech sites. Regarding the last passage I wrote, Once I get approved, I am completely done with Discord, Deleting it forever and to never return. Whenever I get around to it, I will instead make a Matrix server dedicated to this website. But yes, Not even steam anymore, I have other ways and paths to go to.


I had a kidney stone yet again


The last time I had a kidney stone this bad somewhat was back in 2022, However I recently passed it without having to go to the doctor this time luckily. It took a bunch of drinking water and showering in hot water but it managed to pass, But I was left with a soreness that wasn't nearly as bad as the stone part. So for the past few days I was dealing with the after math but I am SO much better today. That's why I didn't update this past weekend x_x. Apparently Caffeine itself can cause Kidney Stones so, I need to not drink any kind of energy drink at all and probably just drink normal coffee rather than the canned Monster coffee that gets sold. The Energy drinks I was drinking were mainly Sugar Free too which I guess didn't help much with preventing kidney stones. Anyways, Moral of the story, Caffeine fucking sucks.


Akira Toriyama


Finally I want to talk about what have came out this past week of a much beloved creator, Akira Toriyama. This man was probably a huge influence on me and millions upon millions of kids growing up over the years. His work with Dragon Ball and Dragon Quest have inspired many others for the many years of his life, That various different medias you may find actually had some inspiration from one thing or another. When I got the news this past week, For the first time, I actually cried over a celebrity death. I didn't expect myself to, as usually I get quite sad over deaths but not to this level. Hell, Dragon Ball was one thing that me and my dad bonded over growing up as I used to watch Dragon Ball with him after Headstart as we wait for my mom to come home from her job. Hell, My entire family got involved with discussing and watching Dragon Ball Z on VHS back when I was a kid. Even before I left my home state, Me and my dad watched Dragon Ball Super and even talked about some of the part from Super, Even that one time I thought I had a dream about something happening and he told me it actually happened in the show (He binged it whiel I watched it here and there with him). But man, It was a HUGE thing for us all and influenced some of the things I really liked from the show. I have as of late playing Dragon Quest in memory of Toriyama, Sure he didn't make Dragon quest but he did make all the character and monster designs which Dragon Quest was VERY influential to various games. Toriyama was an absolute Legend and that his passing really shook the world and brought people together for a moment for their love of his work. May he rest in peace.